From 3-star level, you can progress to 4-star, 5-star and then Diamond status by earning qualifying miles for each eligible trip. Each level has its own advantages and privileges.

Qualifying miles and award miles: what are the differences and what are they used for?

There are 2 types of miles in the program: qualifying miles and award miles.

Qualifying miles: miles for more privileges!

These are used to determine your status within the program.

You can move up to the 4-star, 5-star and Diamond levels by accumulating miles. Once you’ve reached the threshold of the next level, you automatically move up.

With the exception of the 3-star level, where qualifying miles are permanent, miles for other levels are valid for 3 years from the date of entry into the level. Depending on the number of miles earned, you can either keep your status or move up to the next level.

If you do not earn enough miles to move up to the next level at the end of the 3-year qualification period, your status is reset to the same level but with a balance reset to zero.

On the other hand, if you do not earn any miles over the period, you are downgraded one by level.

Award miles: miles for more gifts!

Award miles are used to purchase rewards: award tickets, access to VIP lounges, excess baggage and more.

Each qualifying flight earns you award miles in the same way as qualifying miles, with the only difference being that bonuses are only credited to the award miles account.

The following are considered bonuses :

  • Program welcome miles ,

  • Online membership miles ,

  • Referral miles ,

  • Compensation miles ,

  • Miles awarded during promotional and commercial operations.

Award miles are valid for 5 years from the date of travel (Example: you receive 3,000 miles for a trip on August 10, 2023. These 3,000 miles are valid until August 10, 2028).

The use of award miles does not depend on the card level. You just need to have the required balance to benefit from the desired award.




You would like to :